and NOW....here are the laws about fireworks in Virginia:
- CLICK HERE FOR RULES BY CITY
- Many types of fireworks (including firecrackers, sparklers, bottle rockets, skyrockets, torpedoes and other fireworks that explode, travel laterally, rise into the air, or fire projectiles into the air) are illegal in Virginia unless you are a licensed contractor.
- Possessing, selling or using unlawful fireworks is a Class 1 misdemeanor, punishable by up to 12 months in jail and a fine of $2,500.
- Remember, fireworks of any kind are NEVER allowed on federal lands.
- Some localities, including Chesterfield and Henrico counties, completely ban the sale, possession and use of any type of fireworks, including sparklers. Professional fireworks displays are allowed with a permit.
- Display Permit: Apply to local authorities at least 15 days before display date.
- Insurance: Bond adequate to pay for all damages to persons or property is required.