Preview of Tonight's MTV Video Music Awards

The MTV Video Music Awards are happening tonight, with some of the biggest stars in music descending on Radio City Music Hall in New York City for what’s bound to be a great night of music.

As always, the show, which this year will air without a host, will feature a huge lineup of performers including Ariana Grande, who'll reportedly perform "God Is A Woman" backed by 50 female dancers,  Shawn Mendes, Logic with Ryan Tedder, Nicki Minaj, Travis Scott, Post Malone, Panic! At the Disco, Maluma and Aersomith. There will also be some great performances during the VMA preshow, including Backstreet Boys, Bazzi and Bryce Vine.

Cardi B is set to open the VMAs, although she shared on social media that she won’t actually be performing on the telecast. This will be her first return to the stage since giving birth to daughter Kulture Kiari.

In addition, Jennifer Lopez is set to receive this year’s Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award, and will also perform on the show. 

  • Presenters for this year’s telecast include Tiffany Haddish, Kevin Hart, Rita Ora, Amandla Stenberg, Bebe Rexha, DJ Khaled, Common, G-Eazy, Gucci Mane, Keegan-Michael Key, KYLE, Lenny Kravitz, Lil Uzi Vert, Shay Mitchell, and Teyana Taylor.
  • Cardi B leads this year’s nominees with 10, including Artist of the Year, Video and Song of the Year for her Bruno Mars collab “Finesse,” as well as Best New Artist. Other artists with multiple nods include Beyoncé and Jay-Z, a.k.a. The Carters, with eight, Childish Gambinoand Drake, with seven, and Bruno Mars with six. 

Check out nominations in the major categories below and click here for a complete list. The 2018 MTV VMAs air tonight at 9 pm.


  • Ariana Grande – “No Tears Left to Cry”
  • Bruno Mars ft. Cardi B – “Finesse (Remix)”
  • Camila Cabello ft. Young Thug – “Havana”
  • The Carters – “APES**T”
  • Childish Gambino – “This Is America”
  • Drake – “God's Plan”


  • Ariana Grande
  • Bruno Mars
  • Camila Cabello
  • Cardi B
  • Drake
  • Post Malone


  • Bruno Mars ft. Cardi B – “Finesse (Remix)”
  • Camila Cabello ft. Young Thug – “Havana”
  • Drake – “God's Plan”
  • Dua Lipa – “New Rules”
  • Ed Sheeran – “Perfect”
  • Post Malone ft. 21 Savage – “rockstar”

BEST NEW ARTIST (Presented by Taco Bell®)

  • Bazzi
  • Cardi B
  • Chloe x Halle
  • Hayley Kiyoko
  • Lil Pump
  • Lil Uzi Vert

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content