Trending With Tricia 3.6.17

Another star-studded iHeartRadio Music Awards took place last night with several artists walking way with multiple awards. The big winners of the night included The Chainsmokers, who walked away with four trophies, including Best New Artist and Best Dance Recording for “Closer,” featuring Halsey; Rihanna, who also won four awards, including Best R&B Artist and Best R&B album for “Anti” and Twenty One Pilots, another four-trophy winner in categories like Best Duo/Group of the Year, as well as three trophies in the Alternative Rock category.

Justin Timberlake won the coveted Song of the Year prize for “Can’t Stop the Feeling,” noting that he had wanted to write a song about “inclusion.” “If you are black or you are brown or you are gay or you are lesbian or you are trans — or maybe you’re just a sissy singing boy from Tennessee,” he said. “Anyone that is treating you unkindly, it is only because they are afraid or they have been taught to be afraid of how important you are because being different means you make the difference. So f— ’em.” 

Bruno Mars was honored with the iHeartRadio Innovator Award, an honor bestowed previously to Timberlake, U2 and Pharrell Williams. At first he wowed the crowd with a medley that included “Treasure” and his latest hit “That’s What I Like.” After he took a moment to catch his breath, Bruno thanked his fans who he said made him “want to be a better songwriter, a better performer and a better entertainer" and he promised them he’s “just getting started.”

Meanwhile the performances were confusing if you were my kids. Both Noel and Karrington (10 & 8) thought that when Katy Perry kicked off the show with her song "Chained to the Rhythm" that it was Miley Cyrus performing. Insert emoji. Holy cow! I'd say that's an unfortunate haircut Katy. Just sayin'. 

Song of the Year

"Can't Stop The Feeling" - Justin Timberlake - WINNER
"Cheap Thrills" - Sia featuring Sean Paul
"Closer" - The Chainsmokers featuring Halsey
"One Dance" - Drake featuring Wizkid and Kyla
"Stressed Out" - Twenty One Pilots 

Female Artist of the Year
Adele - WINNER
Ariana Grande
Selena Gomez

Male Artist of the Year
Justin Bieber - WINNER
Luke Bryan
Shawn Mendes
The Weeknd 

Best Duo/Group of the Year
Florida Georgia Line
The Chainsmokers
Twenty One Pilots - WINNER

Best New Artist
Kelsea Ballerini
The Strumbellas
Chance The Rapper
CncoJoss Favela
The Chainsmokers - WINNER
Bryson Tiller 

Best Tour
"A Head Full of Dreams Tour" - Coldplay

Pop Album of the Year
“25” – Adele

Hip Hop Album of the Year
“Views” – Drake

Alternative Rock Album of the Year
“Blurryface” - Twenty One Pilots

Rock Album of the Year
“Hardwired... to Self-Destruct” – Metallica

Dance Album of the Year
“Collage” - The Chainsmokers

R&B Album of the Year
“Anti” - Rihanna

Dance Artist of the Year
Calvin Harris
DJ Snake
Major Lazer
The Chainsmokers - WINNER 

Dance Song of the Year
“Closer” – The Chainsmokers featuring Halsey – WINNER
“Cold Water” – Major Lazer featuring Justin Bieber and MØ
“Don’t Let Me Down” – The Chainsmokers featuring Daya
“I Took A Pill In Ibiza” – Mike Posner
“Let Me Love You” – DJ Snake featuring Justin Bieber  

R&B Song of the Year
“Exchange" - Bryson Tiller
"Needed Me" - Rihanna
"No Limit" - Usher featuring Young Thug
"Sorry" - Beyoncé
"Work" - Rihanna featuring Drake - WINNER

R&B Artist of the Year
Bryson Tiller
Rihanna - WINNER
The Weeknd

Hip-Hop Song of the Year
"All The Way Up" - Fat Joe and Remy Ma featuring French Montana and Infared
"Controlla" - Drake
"For Free" - DJ Khaled featuring Drake
"One Dance" - Drake featuring Wizkid and Kyla - WINNER
"Panda" - Desiigner

Hip-Hop Artist of the Year
DJ Khaled
Drake - WINNER
J. Cole

Alternative Rock Song of the Year
“Heathens” – Twenty One Pilots - WINNER
“Bored to Death” – blink-182
“Dark Necessities” – Red Hot Chili Peppers
“Ride” – twenty one pilots
“Trouble” – Cage The Elephant 

Alternative Rock Artist of the Year
Twenty One Pilots

Cage The Elephant


The Strumbellas 

Rock Song of the Year 
“Bang Bang” – Green Day - WINNER
“Dark Necessities” – Red Hot Chili Peppers
“Take Me Down” – The Pretty Reckless
“The Devil’s Bleeding Crown” – Volbeat
“The Sound Of Silence” – Disturbed 

Rock Artist of the Year 
Disturbed - WINNER
Five Finger Death Punch
Red Hot Chili Peppers

Best Lyrics: *Socially Voted Category
"7 Years" - Lukas Graham
"Came Here to Forget" - Blake Shelton
"Cheap Thrills" - Sia featuring Sean Paul
"Closer" - The Chainsmokers featuring Halsey
"Heathens" - twenty one pilots
"Love Yourself" - Justin Bieber (Bieber, Ed Sheeran, Benny Blanco writers) - WINNER
"Scars To Your Beautiful" - Alessia Cara
"Send My Love (To Your New Lover)" - Adele
"Too Good" – Drake featuring Rihanna
"You Should Be Here" - Cole Swindell 

Best Collaboration: *Socially Voted Category
"Cheap Thrills" - Sia featuring Sean Paul
"Closer" - The Chainsmokers featuring Halsey
"Don't Let Me Down" - The Chainsmokers featuring Daya
"This Is What You Came For" - Calvin Harris featuring Rihanna
"Work" - Rihanna featuring Drake - WINNER 

Best Fan Army presented by Taco Bell: *Socially Voted Category
5 Seconds of Summer - 5SOSFam
Ariana Grande - Arianators
Beyoncé - Beyhive
Britney Spears - Britney Army
Demi Lovato - Lovatics
Fifth Harmony – Harmonizers - WINNER
Justin Bieber - Beliebers
Katy Perry - KatyCats
Lady Gaga - Little Monsters
Rihanna - Rihanna Navy
Selena Gomez - Selenators
Shawn Mendes - Mendes Army
Twenty One Pilots - #twentyonepilots

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content